Each state has laws about driving accidents. States ask drivers to prove their financial ability to pay for damages they cause to others. When driving, you might cause an accident that damages property or people. Most people comply with this rule by buying auto insurance. But, some drivers are uninsured. They either choose to ignore this obligation or they cannot afford to pay for auto insurance. If you don’t have auto insurance and you are a Connecticut driver, you face certain penalties. Learn about these penalties below.
Each state in the United States has very specific laws in regards to carrying insurance while driving an automobile.
The state requires that the driver proves that they have the financial ability to pay for any accident done to other drivers on the road caused by your vehicle. When you step into a vehicle and drive it, you are responsible for your own actions behind the wheel.
Insurance companies help cover the cost of accidents and give you a sense of financial security when you are operating a vehicle on open roads. There are instances where some drivers do not have insurance. The reason being is that they just clearly don’t want it or they cannot afford to pay the monthly fees of an insurance policy in Connecticut. If you don’t have any auto insurance, you are breaking the state laws and we’ll get fined.
If it Connecticut police officer pulls you over and you cannot provide the correct auto insurance policy card you will be cited for a ticket between $100 and $1000 dollars. Furthermore, if you are a commercial truck driver and don’t have proof of insurance when pulled over, you will face a Class D Felony charge in the state of Connecticut. Also for commercial truck drivers, this citation could result in 5 years in prison or a $5,000 fine. Your registration for your vehicle and DMV license may also be suspended.
For the first offense being cited without insurance, your license will be suspended for one month. If you are caught on the second offense, your license will be suspended for a six-month period.
In the state of Connecticut, statute 38a-37 – Property and Causality Insurance states that if you fail to show any type of insurance to the police officer you are entitled to a Class C misdemeanor.
If you are pulled over by a Connecticut police officer and have insurance but left your card at the office or at your home and fail to show it at the time you will get a fix-It ticket. The ticket will require you to pay $35 for your first offense and $50 for your second.
It’s so important that you drive with auto insurance in the state of Connecticut. If you are involved in an accident and damage the other vehicle or person, you are held responsible. By not having insurance, you are going to be required to pay for the damage out of your own pocket.
Here at The Connecticut Ticket Defenders: 1-844-Pulled-Over, we have established a reputation for providing top-notch legal advice to clients that have gotten a no insurance ticket. Call us today for a free consultation and we can schedule a phone call where we can advise you on your next step. We are here to help you get through this ticket in avoid paying high find and getting DMV points on your record.