Under the Connecticut traffic laws, being fined for a reckless driving ticket is a criminal offense. If you recently got fined for reckless driving, you may be feeling confused as what to do next for your situation. The fact that reckless driving is not easy to research in the Connecticut General Statutes makes it hard for someone to find the right education and strategy to plead their case. Read below to understand clearly why you were pulled over and cited and also how you can move forward with defending your reckless driving charge in Connecticut.
What Defines Reckless Driving
When you drive more than 85 MPH, you are automatically classified by the law as a reckless driver and if caught face criminal charges in the state of Connecticut. Also, you can be cited for reckless driving if the officer thinks you are a threat to anyone else on the road. In this case, the citation and cause can be very subjective and isn’t defined clearly under the laws of Connecticut.
Sometimes people make mistakes that look otherwise suspicious of reckless driving. You can be changing the music on your phone, looking at a GPS map on your dashboard or finding the cup of coffee by your side and accidentally lose control of your car. All of these incidents shouldn’t be associated with criminal activity.
Speeding Ticket VS Reckless Driving
You must understand that when you get a speeding ticket you are receiving an infraction. However, a reckless driving offense is a crime. Once your motor vehicle reaches past 85 MPH, you are then breaking the law of reckless driving and will be cited, if clocked by a radar gun, for a misdemeanor charge. Most of the time, highway patrol are locking you with laser and radar guns to find out the speed you are going. It’s important to understand that the technology of radar and laser is not always accurate. The Connecticut Ticket Defenders: 1-844-Pulled-Over can take a look at the report and see how the officer described the incident in great detail to help defend your case.
Penalties For Connecticut Reckless Driving
When found guilty, the penalty can be up to 30 days in jail, a loss of driver’s license and up to $300.00 in fees.
If this is your second offense, you can spend 1 year in jail and also a $600.00 fine.
How To Defend Your Reckless Driving Charge
Here at The Connecticut Ticket Defenders: 1-844-Pulled-Over, we have been defending reckless driving fines under C.G.S. § 14-222 in the state of Connecticut for years. We will gather all the details of the incident from your point of view and match them with the data from the speed detection radar. We also request details such as the calibration history of the laser gun and the time of day it was used in the judgment of the plea. There are many times where the laser could have focused on other cars than yours and you get the fault. From the moment you start the conversation with us, we will start our investigation to defend your charge and also prepare to go to trial if needed.
A challenge to the accuracy of the driving behavior being reckless is confronted. By looking at tall the things you were doing at the moment, a file will be written on the safety precautions that were taken. If you had a momentary lapse in distraction and quickly corrected it, we must know the exact details.
If you were going over 85 miles per hour, we can look at whether your speed was officially on the radar. Can the police officer properly show the maintenance report of the guns?
We also look at reducing your charge from criminal to a moving violation. Sometimes what worries people the most is having a criminal charge on their record. By getting this removed, this can mean a very successful victory for your case.
Reckless Driving and Connecticut DMV / Insurance Points
Along with the heavy fines and the threat of going to jail, reckless driving charges weights heavily on your DMV and insurance points. For your first offense, the DMV will suspend your license for 30 days . Each charge after that will result in a 90-day suspension. You also must apply to have your license relisted after the DMV suspension which will cost you $175.00.
In regards to insurance premiums, your reckless driving conviction will be reviewed by your carrier and your premiums could be affected or they could even cancel your insurance membership .