As cell phones are becoming more and more essential in our everyday lives, we are constantly using them for phone calls, research, and GPS navigating. The threat of not having full attention to driving has lead to new laws and standards toward cell phone usage and operating a vehicle.
Cell phones are considered a distraction to the driver. When you aren’t focusing on the road and looking a text and browsing the internet via your phone, all your driving reflects are being impaired.
When you are operating a vehicle in the state of Connecticut and are texting or using the phone to make a phone call, you are breaking the law. Studies show that texting while driving is just as dangerous as drunk driving. The number of accidents causing fatalities with texting and driving keeps growing every year.
If you are holding a cell phone close to your ear, a police officer can pull you over and give you a ticket even though you weren’t even on the call. You cannot use a hand-held phone while driving. There are ways to use the phone legally.
If you are over the age of 18, it is not illegal to use:
- A Bluetooth.
- The speaker phone feature on your phone.
- A voice activated car kit that allows you to make phone calls.
- A wired headset.
If you are under the age of 18, you cannot legally use any of the procedures mentioned above. The only case of using a cell phone while driving is if you are making an emergency phone call. In this case, you will not be charged with a motor vehicle infraction.
Cell Phone and Texting While Driving Tickets in Connecticut
Police officers in Connecticut have been citing people more and more with texting while driving tickets as the popularity of having a smartphone in everyday life is becoming more of the norm.
The Connecticut Grand Statue, 14-296aa, clearly states that you are not permitted to use a cell phone or touch a handle device whole driving your car.
Let Us Defend Your Texting While Driving Tickets
When you are pulled over for a texting while driving ticket, you will be written a ticket.
Below are the penalty fines you will receive:
- Using a hand-held cell phone while driving, first offense: $150 fine.
- Using a hand-held cell phone while driving, second offense: $300 fine.
- Using a hand-held cell phone while driving, third or subsequent offense: $500 fine.
Use of cell phone by Under 18 driver:
first offense: A 30-day suspension of driver’s license, $125 fee to restore your license, fines imposed by the court. Use of cell phone by a teenage driver, second or subsequent offense: 6-month license suspension, or suspension until the driver turns 18 (whichever time period is longer), a $125 restoration fee of court imposed fines.
**When you plead guilty and pay for your ticket through the mail, your driving record and insurance premiums may be affected.
When you hire The Connecticut Ticket Defenders: 1-844-Pulled-Over, we can help defend your ticket so you can keep your driving record clean from DMV points. We have been handling cases of cell phone usage and texting tickets for many years in the state for Connecticut.
When you call The Connecticut Ticket Defenders: 1-844-Pulled-Over, we can check out the case for you and we can give you the best decision on what makes sense for you to take this ticket to court or to just pay it by mail. the goal of our firm is to have the charges reduced and have no impact on your driving record or raise flags with your insurance company. Depending on your case you may never have to actually step into a courtroom to fight your ticket.
If you get charged with C.G.S. § 14-296aa ticket on the ticket you will see a deadline date where you can either plead guilty or not guilty and just pay the fine before this deadline date we strongly suggest that you talk to a professional ticket lawyer to get the best consultation for your needs.
Texting While Driving/Cell Phone Tickets And Your Insurance
When the time comes to renew your auto insurance the carrier is going to ask for your record to look at potential risks or anything new that has been added throughout the year they will take this into consideration when assessing you your new premium coverage if you have lots of points on your record from the prior year you might have to pay a higher premium that’s why we suggest before you plead guilty to your ticket charge you talk to a professional ticket lawyer to make sure the charges are valid.
Some clients have asked how texting while driving tickets can affect their insurance rates. The last thing you want is your insurance is your insurance premiums to go up. Or even have your policy denied by the insurance company. That fact alone is why we strongly suggest that you speak with the right traffic ticket lawyer in your area.
Contact The Connecticut Ticket Defenders: 1-844-Pulled-Over
If you got caught on your cell phone while driving and your ticket says that you broke the Connecticut grand statute § 14-296aa, please call us today so we can schedule your free consultation. We are here days, nights, and weekends for your convenience. Call us at 1-844-Pulled-Over. We offer a very competitive rate in taking on these types of cases and if we don’t believe you’re the right client for us we’re not going to waste your time.