If your license has been suspended revoked or terminated, it is illegal to drive an automobile. If you drive a vehicle under those circumstances you can face criminal charges between $150 and $200 on your first offense.
You may lose your driver’s license for multiple reasons as well as accruing a criminal record throughout the year. When you get a suspension from the DMV of your license you will lose your driving privileges for the time being. In Connecticut, it is a crime to drive if you have a suspended or revoked license.
When you get cited for a suspended license in Connecticut you have to make sure to take care of it within 10 days of the arrest. The reason being you have committed a crime and
the court of Connecticut is going to release a warrant out for your arrest if you do not appear in court to plead your case. There are no excuses and an appearance in court must be made by you or your lawyer within 10 days
Reasons For Suspension
There are many reasons why your driver’s license can be suspended including the most popular alcohol-related offenses and also not paying your child support. If you feel you your license is going to be suspended make sure you talk to a professional traffic ticket lawyer as soon as possible so you can appear in court and take the necessary steps to your discipline.
Check your drivers license status
When you pull up your Connecticut driving record with the DMV you will be able to see the status of your license. You will also be able to see any motor vehicle infractions that you have occurred throughout the year. We at The Connecticut Ticket Defenders: 1-844-Pulled-Over recommend that you check your driving record every couple of months to make sure that you’re in the clear from DMV point charges and penalties from the state of Connecticut. It’s also important to do so because a clean driving record represents a very good premium on your insurance rate and also A+ record with your employees. Make sure that you have correct and accurate records.
Reinstating Your License
After your suspension is over, you must have your driver’s license reinstated at the DMV and then you can legally drive on public roads. You must pay the fee of $175.00 for reinstatement. This applies to the Connecticut DMV department. With suspension cases involving insurance liabilities, you may also need to show a proof of insurance before you can have your license reinstated.
Charges for Driving With Suspended License in Connecticut.
You are facing criminal charges if you have gotten caught driving with a suspended license in Connecticut. For the first-time you get caught, your fine will be between $150 and $200 with a maximum jail sentence of 90 days. ( 14-215 (b) On your second time getting caught, your fines will be between $200 and $600 and a maximum jail sentence of 1 year. ( 14-215 (b)
Depending on your particular case, you may have to perform a decent amount of community service hours. In the case of having your license suspended due to DUI or manslaughter charges, you may be convicted of a felony charge and have a maximum jail sentence of 2-3 years.
(14-215(c) ) 53a-24(b), 53a-25(a)
In the case of being arrested for a DUI while having a suspended license, your vehicle will be towed away to an impound facility. ( 14-227h. )
Getting Legal Help
When you get caught driving with a suspended license this can result into some serious charges with some serious consequences. You could be a convicted felon in some cases. You may lose your job you may lose the opportunity of going to school and you also may lose your current insurance policy. It is strongly advised that you never take the risk of driving with a suspended license. Getting legal help for your case is a must if you are in this situation. The Connecticut Ticket Defenders: 1-844-Pulled-Over provides legal representation for clients who have gotten a ticket for a suspended license in the state of Connecticut. We are here to answer all your questions and help defend your case .
You need an experienced lawyer who understands the Connecticut DMV procedure and laws that go against this type of charge. Our Law Firm takes into consideration all the delete defenses in working towards mitigating the situation. We want you to clearly understand where you fall and what you need to do for your next step. By having a clear reason for the suspension, this will help in negotiating a plea bargain for an individual who doesn’t have a criminal record. Call us today for a free consultation on your case. We are ready to help you out.